Retirement Association

Retirement Association

26 May 2005

The Freightliner Retirement Association (FRA) celebrated its 20th anniversary by marking the special contribution of two of its founding members.

Front row L to R: Norman Thompson, secretary, Bill Rogerson, treasurer and Bill Hall.  Back L to R: Malcolm Bown, Cyril Poore, chairman, Harold Cross and Bryan Driver, presidentSecretary Norman Thompson and treasurer Bill Rogerson are stepping down and were saluted on the day by staff and former Freightliner chiefs including Cyril Bleasdale, Bryan Driver, Jim Evans and Alan Galley.

The Association president, Bryan Driver, a one time managing director of Freightliner, said, “On behalf of all the members, I wish to thank Norman and Bill for their hard work over the years. Without their unstinting enthusiasm, along with founder member the late Ken Brown, the Association would not be what it is today. With a membership of nearly 200 the FRA proves that friendships formed at work can continue through retirement.”

In honour of its anniversary, the Freightliner Group funded the celebration at Euston’s Ibis Hotel. A jovial Eddie Fitzsimons, current chief executive of Freightliner, said, “You all look so healthy. If this is what retirement does for you, I look forward to the day I can join the Association.”

Return to News Home Page